Goldfish Salvation

Riusuke Fukahori

The Sun Japanese sushi oke, resin, acrylic 2013 16.25 inch diameter x 4 inches

Riusuke Fukahori is a graduate of Aichi Art University’s Department of Design.  Since 1995, he pursued artwork full-time, however, by 2000, his artistic career was moving nowhere fast. So happened, he suddenly became fascinated by his goldfish. It was very much alive despite being neglected for seven years. Riusuke calls this incident Goldfish Salvation — goldfish becomes artist’s favorite if not exclusive subject.

Riusuke Fukahori94

Warewan ni Byaku Wood bowl, resin, acrylic 2013 3 x 3.5 x 4 inches

“I think of goldfish as a living sculpture with man-made modifications. It never reaches the completed form; the goldfish’s vulnerability and imperfections bring out our motherly instinct. I’ve been bewitched with the strong energy of life of goldfish that has inherited mutations for more than 1500 years, continuously changing forms by man’s hands.” says Riusuke Fukahori.

Riusuke Fukahori92

Riusuke Fukahori ‘s style of painting is rather unique. Image is applied layer by layer, similar to the “cuts” of the 3D-printer, resulting in a voluminous, 3 dimensional and incredibly realistic artwork.

“I’ve been depicting an uncountable numbers of goldfish in my work, but the mysterious pull towards goldfish will never die for me. The impulse of exploration, “What are goldfish” drives me to create more. Where and how they want to swim, and what they think; these are the questions that I’ve been asking myself when I paint goldfish. I believe this process will help breathe life into the goldfish in my works.”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


How he does it?

Leave a Reply

